I Popped My Star Trails Cherry

Polaris

Night Time Popsies

It finally happened. The seemingly unending crappy weather lost it’s luster and gave in to sunny skies. And sunny days usually mean starry nights. I have been wanting to do this for a while. My previous attempt was not very successful as the moon was the king of the skies then, you can view that post here.

This post is not exactly a success as I know there are things that I could have done better. I know I have not posted in a couple of days and that you don’t deserve a picture of 2 popsicle looking things. Those are flags by the way. I took a 15 minute exposure to show the stars drawing lines, there was enough wind to make the flags whip, hence their blur appearances. I could have takes 5 minute exposures and put the together in post processing but I found out my camera processes long exposures almost equal to their lengths. Had I done that I would’ve lost 5 minutes of the trail per shot which means the picture would have ended up with broken star trails. I should have also tried taking 30 minute exposures to show longer trails.

There are a few things I learned from this shoot:

  • Apply mosquito repellent lotion to exposed extremities. I was mosquito dinner tonight.
  • Scout for a foreground during daytime. Planned shoot is better than looking for the right spot to shoot in semi darkness.
  • Bring a  more powerful flash light.
  • Bring something to nibble on.
  • Bring something to tinker with (PSP, Ipod etc.) You’ll need to be entertained while waiting for  your exposure to finish.
  • Bring lots of patience.
  • Have lots of fun.

I’m hoping my next night outing will yield better results. In the mean time, enjoy  viewing these popsicles.

Leave a Reply

